Domestic Cricket Schedule 2022-23
Photo Source- Twitter/BCCIdomestic

BCCI Announces India’s Domestic Cricket Schedule For 2022-23. Today, the Board of control for cricket in India (BCCI) released the Indian domestic cricket calendar for 2022-2023. It will constitute over 1500 matches across all formats and for both men and women combined, subject to no further COVID or similar disturbance. The BCCI officials revealed it.

The 2022-2023 season will commence on September 8 until mid-March 2023. BCCI has also brought back Irani Trophy, which last took place in 2018-2019. As has been the tradition every year, Duleep Trophy has been given the honor of kickstarting the season that was last played in 2019-20.

Also Read: BCCI Announces 15 Member Squad For Asia Cup 2022, Jasprit Bumrah Ruled Out Due To Back Injury

This first-class competition will feature six zonal teams from the regions such as North, South, Central, West, East, and Northeast. It will be held in a knockout format to determine the winner.

An important tournament that has returned to the roaster is the Irani Trophy. It will be held immediately after the Duleep Trophy, making it two red-ball competitions in the season’s first phase.

The two multi-day tournaments in the red ball will be followed by the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and the Vijay Hazare Trophy. These two famous white-ball tournaments will be contested between 38 teams, which will be split into three groups of 8 teams and two groups that will comprise 7 teams.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2022: Predicted Playing XI Of Team India Against Pakistan


The most important domestic cricket tournament, Ranji Trophy, will start on December 13. The Ranji Trophy will have two categories; 1) Elite and 2) Plate. The Elite Group will consist of 32 teams with 4 groups of 8 teams, which will be split into home and away formats, with each team scheduled to play 7 games in the league stage.

The top two teams from each of the four groups will directly get birth to the quarterfinals. The Elite Group and Plate Group league matches will start simultaneously on December 13, with the Plate League concluding on January 29 and the Elite group finishing on February 20.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma Surpasses Shahid Afridi To Become 2nd Highest Six Hitter In International Cricket


Keeping in mind the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World cup, which will be held in February 2023, BCCI has planned to kickstart the women’s domestic cricket season with the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy to begin on October 11 and will conclude on November 5, 2022. After the senior women’s T20 Trophy, senior women’s Interzone T20 and T20 matches will take place.

The 50-over format will then take over with Senior Women’s one-day Trophy, followed by the inter-zonal one-day. BCCI, for the first time, will conduct a one-day tournament for girls at the U-16 level.