Asia Cup 2023
Image Source: ACB/Twitter

Updated: 03 September

Asia Cup 2023: Afghanistan Team Players List, Squad, And Their ODI Stats: The 16th Asia Cup will be co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka on a hybrid model from August 30 to September 17. A total of 13 ODI matches will be contested over four venues. On August 30, Pakistan will face Nepal in the opening match of the Asia Cup 2023 at Multan.

Afghanistan’s Asia Cup 2023 campaign will kick off against Bangladesh on September 3 in Lahore. In their second group encounter, they will face co-host Sri Lanka on September 5 in Lahore.

Afghanistan is competing in its fourth Asia Cup. They qualified for the first time in 2014 but failed to qualify again in 2016. However, since then, Afghanistan has developed into one of the world’s fastest-maturing teams. Since then, Afghanistan has qualified for all Asia Cups as well as all other ICC competitions.

Afghanistan has played nine matches in the Asia Cup in 2014, 2018, and 2022, winning three of them, losing five, and drawing one. Mohd. Shahzad leads the team in scoring with 308 runs in nine matches, while Rashid Khan has the most wickets with ten in five.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: Prize Money In Indian Rupees And Sponsors List

Afghanistan Squad For Asia Cup 2023

On Sunday, Aug 27 Afghanistan has announced their squad for the Asia Cup 2023. They have made a few changes to the team that faced Pakistan in the just-finished three-match One-Day International series. Fareed Ahmad, Azmatullah Omarzai, Shahidullah Kamal, and Wafadar Momand were not selected for the Asia Cup. Karim Janat, Najibullah Zadran, and Sharafuddin Ashraf, on the other side, are making comebacks.

Squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Abdul Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Suliman Safi, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Riaz Hassan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Afghanistan Team Players ODI Stats

Hashmatullah Shahidi62166597*0/14
Ibrahim Zadran1782916204/03
Rahmat Shah95319111405/231555/321/0
Najibullah Zadran88201310401/15
Mohammad Nabi145308511601/151544/300/4
Ikram Alikhil142388600/02
Gulbadin Naib7711708200/05676/431/2
Karim Janat199
Abdul Rahman310411/83
Sharafuddin Ashraf196621133/29
Mujeeb ur Rahman641816400/01915/5001/03
Noor Ahmad35321/54
Fazalhaq Farooqi19136324/390/2
Rashid Khan9211603000/051707/184/6
Riaz Hassan51205000/01
Rahmanullah Gurbaz2495315105/02
Suliman Safi