WPL 2023
Image Source- Twitter.com/mipaltan

WPL 2023 DC Vs MI: Mumbai Indians Record Straight Third Win In The Tournament. On March 9 WPL 2023 points table-toppers Mumbai Indians locked horns with second-placed Delhi Capitals in the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023. Both teams won their first two games in the first edition of the WPL.

These two teams are front-runners for a spot in the WPL 2023 finals, so we can this was the dress rehearsal of the final game. Fans and cricket pundits were excited to see which team outshine other teams in this exciting counter between heavyweights.

Also Read: Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023: Who Will Win WPL 2023? Prediction

Saika Ishaque Put Delhi In Trouble With Early Strikes

Delhi Capitals skipper Meg Lanning won the toss and opted for bat first. However their openers Shafali Verma and Lanning couldn’t give a solid start to the team. Left-arm spinner Saika Ishaque dismissed Shafali in her first over.

Shafali could make only two runs from six balls. Skipper Lanning tried to stabilize the innings, however, the wickets continued to tumble at the other end. Alice Capsey and Marizanne Kapp couldn’t stay on the crease longer.

Mumbai Indians Wrapped Delhi Capitals To 105

Next batsman Jemimah Rodrigues stitched a vital partnership with Lanning; however, Ishaque gave a breakthrough to Mumbai by dismissing Jemimah on 25. Ishaque also dismissed Lanning in the same over. Lanning made 43 runs off 41 balls with the help of five boundaries.

Pacer Issy Wong and all-rounder Hayley Matthews wrapped the innings of DC to 105 in 18 overs. Wong, Matthews, and Ishaque picked three wickets each in this inning.

Also Read: Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023: A Game-Changer for Women’s Cricket in India

A Whirlwind Start From Mumbai Opener Yastika Bhatia

While chasing a moderate score of 106 runs, Mumbai opener Yastika Bhatia gave a flying start in the power play. Second opener Matthews also joined her partner in smashing boundaries. She pummelled three boundaries in an over of Shikha Pandey. Yastika continued to deal with boundaries.

She made 41 runs in 32 balls with the help of eight boundaries. Matthews made 32 runs off 31 balls. After the openers were dismissed, one-down batsman Nat Sciver-Brunt and skipper Harmanpreet Kaur took Mumbai Indians to an easy win.

Brief Scorecard: Mumbai Indians 109/2 (15 overs) (Bhatia 41, Matthews 32, Norris 1/4 ) beat Delhi Capitals 105/10 (18 overs) (Lanning 43, Wong 3/10, Ishaque 3/13) by eight wickets.

Also Read: World Test Championship 2023: What Steps ICC Should Take To Make Test Cricket More Competitive?

Playing XIs of Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians

Delhi Capitals Women (Playing XI): Meg Lanning (c), Taniya Bhatia (wk), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Alice Capsey, Radha Yadav, Tara Norris, Jess Jonassen, Minnu Mani, Shikha Pandey, Marizanne Kapp

Mumbai Indians Women (Playing XI): Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur