IND-W vs SA-W 1st Test
Image Source: Twitter @ BCCIWomen

IND-W vs SA-W 1st Test: India Women Dominate South Africa With 10-Wicket Victory In Chennai. After their clean sweep in the ODI series, the Indian women’s cricket team continued their winning streak by defeating South Africa by 10 wickets in a lone Test match at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. This win highlighted their dominance and proficiency in various formats of cricket.

The team’s outstanding performance has been praised by fans and experts, strengthening their reputation as a strong force in women’s cricket. The South African team, led by Laura Wolvaardt, fought hard and forced India to bat again in the fourth innings after following on. South Africa set a target of 37 runs for India, which the Indian team chased down in 9.2 overs during the final hour of the last day.

Also Read: Dinesh Karthik Joins RCB As Batting Coach And Mentor For IPL 2025

However, India batted first in the lone Test match and piled up 525 runs on the opening day, powered by opener Shafali Verma’s outstanding double century. She scored 205 runs from 197 balls, achieving only the second double-century in India’s women’s Test cricket history.

Verma hit 23 fours and eight sixes in her aggressive innings, setting the record for the fastest double-century in women’s cricket. Veteran batter Mithali Raj scored the Indian women’s cricket team’s first double-century, making 214 runs off 407 balls against England at Taunton in August 2002.

IND-W vs SA-W Test Playing XI

India: Shefali Verma, Renuka Singh, Smriti Mandhana, Saika Ishaque, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Richa Ghosh (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana

Also Read: After Kohli And Rohit Sharma Ravindra Jadeja Also Announces Retirement From T20Is

South Africa: Delmi Tucker, Anneke Bosch, Sinalo Jafta (wk), Nadine de Klerk, Tazmin Brits, Marizanne Kapp, Laura Wolvaardt (c), Nonkululeko Mlaba, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, and Sune Luus.