Champions Trophy
Image Source:

ICC Champions Trophy 2025: Host, Qualification Scenarios, Teams, Format And What You Need To Know. The 2025 ICC Champions Trophy signifies the ninth Edition of this prestigious cricket competition, joining the world’s top eight ODI men’s national teams. The ICC plays a pivotal role in organizing this main event, and cricket fans should mark their calendars as the tournament is scheduled to take place in Pakistan from February to March 2025.

During the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on November 16, 2021, Pakistan received official recognition as the host nation for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy. This announcement marked a historic occasion for Pakistan, representing their first hosting of an ICC major tournament since the 1996 ICC Cricket World Cup.

Also Read: ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Points Table (India On No.1), Most Runs & Wickets After PAK vs BAN Match

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Teams

The ICC Champions Trophy shifted to a more leisurely four-year interval. As for the journey leading to the 2025 edition, the tournament will include host nation Pakistan and the potential teams for the Champions Trophy 2025 edition based on the current point table of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023. With India, New Zealand, South Africa, Australia, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and also Netherlands as the top seven teams, it looks like it could be an exciting tournament in 2025. However, keep in mind that the actual qualification process may involve various factors, and the final lineup could change as the World Cup progresses.

What Will Be The Format Of Champions Trophy 2025?

The 2025 Champions Trophy follows a traditional format with four teams divided into two groups. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals, ultimately leading to the grand final. It’s important to recognize that the qualification system, approved during a 2021 ICC board meeting, might present a challenge for teams like England and Bangladesh as they compete for a place in the coveted Champions Trophy.

Also Read: ICC ODI World Cup 2023: South Africa vs New Zealand Head-To-Head Records & Stats In ODIs

How Teams Will Qualify For The Champions Trophy 2025?

Intense competition determines the composition of the 2025 Champions Trophy, not chance. The seven top-performing teams at the end of the league stage in the ongoing ODI World Cup in India will earn their place in this prestigious tournament. Host nation Pakistan, as automatic qualifiers, will complete the lineup, forming a formidable field of eight teams.

Taking a look at the current points table, England is presently in the 10th position on the World Cup standings, with only two points, while Bangladesh holds the ninth position, also having two points. Both teams face the challenging mission of effecting a significant turnaround to break into the top seven rankings with three matches left in the tournament.

Which country is hosting the ICC Champions Trophy 2025?

-Pakistan will host the ICC Champions Trophy 2025

How many teams are participating in the ICC Champions Trophy 2025?

– 8 Teams Across the world

Who won the last ICC Champions Trophy?

– Pakistan Cricket Team

How many times has India claimed victory in the Champions Trophy?

-2 Times

When and where was the first Champions Trophy Hosted?

– 1998 in Dhaka, Bangladesh