Football & Tennis Achievements Of India In Asian Games: A Historic Overview
Glimpse of Football and Tennis Triumphs at the Asian Games

India’s Tennis and Football Records At Asian Games: A Historic Overview. Football, the world’s most popular sport, prominently features and garners the highest viewership. Since its beginning, the Asian Games have regularly included football, and the Indian football team has an impressive record. In 1951, India made an impressive start to their football journey by winning the gold medal in the inaugural Asian Games held in New Delhi. Since then, except for two editions, the team has consistently participated in the Asian Games, proving their mettle on the field. Their determination and skill are an inspiration to all those who aspire to achieve greatness in the world of football.

Tennis has been a popular sport at the Asian Games since 1958 and remains popular today. In total, India has won 32 medals in tennis at the games, including 9 golds, 6 silvers, and 17 bronzes. This impressive medal count showcases their remarkable skills on the court.

Also Read: Asian Games 2023 Tennis: Full Schedule For Men’s, Ladies Singles, Doubles And Timings In IST

Indian Football Team Performance at the Asian Games

Asian Games Venue & Year Position 
New Delhi 1951Winner 
Manila 1954  8th 
Tokyo 19544th 
Jakarta 1962  Winner 
Bangkok 19668th 
Bangkok 19703rd 
Tehran 197413th 
Bangkok 19788th 
New Delhi 19826th 
Seoul 198616th 
Beijing 1990Did not qualify 
Hiroshima 1994 Did not qualify 
Bangkok 199816th 
Busan 200210th 
Doha 200614th 
Guangzhou 201014th 
Incheon 201426th 
Jakarta 2018Did nor qualify 

Performance Of India In Tennis At The Asian Games

List of Gold Medallists 

Name Event Year 
Leander Paes and Gaurav Natekar Men’s Doubles 1994, Hiroshima Games 
Zeeshan Ali, Asif Ismail, Leander Paes, and Gaurav Natekar Team 1994, Hiroshima Games 
Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi Men’s Doubles 2002, Busan Games 
Leander Paes and Mahesh BhupathiMen’s Doubles 2006, Doha 
Somdev Devvarman and Sanam Singh Men’s Doubles 2010, Guangzhou 
Somdev Devvarman Men’s Singles 2010, Guangzhou 
Leander Paes and Sania MirzaMixed Doubles 2006, Doha Games 
Saketh Myneni and Sania MirzaMixed Doubles 2014, Incheon Games 
Rohan Bopanna and Divij Sharan Men’s Doubles 2018, Jakarta Games 

Also Read: Live Updates: Premier League 2023-24 Score Tracker, Points Table And Standings  

List of Silver Medallists 

Name Event Year 
Nandal Bal, Srinivasan Vasudevan, Enrico Piperno and Jayant Rikhye Men’s Team 1982, New Delhi Games 
Manisha Malhotra and Mahesh Bhupathi Mixed Doubles 2002, Busan Games 
Sania Mirza Women’s Singles 2006, Doha Games 
Ankita Bhambri, Shikha Uberoi, Isha Lakhani and Sania MirzaWomen’s Team 2006, Doha Games 
Sania Mirza and Vishnu Vardhan Mixed Doubles 2010, Guangzhou 
Saketh Myneni and Sanam Singh Men’s Doubles 2014, Incheon Games 

List of Bronze Medallists 

Name Event Year 
Shiv Prakash Mishra and Vinay Dhawan Men’s Doubles1966, Bangkok Games 
Chiradeep Mukherjee Shyam Minotra Men’s Doubles 1978 Bangkok Games 
Zeeshan Ali, Rohit Rajpal, Leander Paes and Srinivas Vasudevan Men’s Team 1990, Beijing Games 
Leander Paes Men’s Singles 1994, Hiroshima Games 
Nitin Kiratne, Mahesh Bhupathi, Syed Fazaluddin and Srinath Prahlad  Men’s Team1998, Bangkok Games 
Mahesh Bhupathi and Nirupama Vaidyanathan Mixed Doubles 1998, Bangkok Games 
Mahesh Bhupathi and Men’s Singles 1998, Bangkok Games 
Srinath PrahladMen’s Singles 1998, Bangkok Games 
Leander Paes and Sania Mirza Mixed Doubles 2002, Busan Games 
Mustafa Ghouse and Vishal Uppal Men’s Doubles 2002, Busan Games 
Somdev Devvarman, Vishnu Vardhan, Sanam Singh and Karan Rastogi Men’s Team 2010, Guangzhou Games 
Sania Mirza Women’s Singles 2010, Guangzhou Games 
Prarthana Thombare and Sania Mirza Women’s Doubles 2014, Incheon Games 
Divij Sharan and Yuki Bhambri Men’s Doubles 2014, Incheon Games  
Yuki Bhambri Men’s Singles 2014, Incheon Games 
Ankita Raina Women’s Singles 2018 Jakarta Games 
Prajnesh Gunneswaran Men’s Singles 2018 Jakarta Games