ICC World Cup 2023
Source: ICC

ICC World Cup 2023: Host Country, Teams, And Format. The 2022 ICC ODI World Cup is set to kick off in October 2023. This year India will host the prestigious tournament. The last time India hosted the ODI World Cup was back in 2011, and the men in blues ended up lifting the trophy. Since then, the tradition of host nations winning ODI World Cups has been followed for the next two editions. Indian cricket enthusiasts will hope for it to be repeated this time as well. 

The 2023 ICC World Cup’s detailed schedule is yet to release by the ICC but according to some reports, the tournament final will be played on 26th November at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. The coveted tournament will thus go on for roughly a month.

Also Read: Australia Tour Of India 2023: Test Series Schedule, Venues, Timing, Squads, And Live Streaming Details

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Teams 

Just like the previous edition, the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup will also feature 10 teams from across the world. Out of them, 8 teams have already qualified for the upcoming edition of the tournament, while the remaining two seats are yet to be filled. 

Here are the eight teams that have made it to the 2023 ODI World Cup so far: 

  • India (Host)
  • Bangladesh
  • Afghanistan
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • West Indies
  • England
  • Australia

Also Read: World Test Championship (WTC) 2023: How Can Team India Qualify For The Final

South Africa, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and the Netherlands will now play in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier. They will be joined by the top three teams from League 2 (Scotland has qualified already, and it looks like Namibia and Oman will qualify too) and the top two teams from Qualifier playoffs (to be announced). The top two teams from the Qualifier will then move on to the 2023 ODI World Cup.

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Format 

The format of the 2023 ODI World Cup is simple. The 10 participating teams will be put in the same group. Now, each team shall be playing every other participating team once in round-robin format. Round-robin means that the selection of opponents will be done in a random order.

The league stage will end when all the teams will have played against all other teams. 2 points will be awarded for a win and 1 point will be awarded for a draw. At the end of the league stage, the top 4 teams on the points table will head on to the semi-finals. From there, two teams will reach the final.