India vs Zimbabwe
Image Source: Twitter @BCCI

India vs Zimbabwe T20I Series: IND Leads 2-1 After Defeating ZIM by 23 Runs. India is leading 2-1 in the series after winning the game against Zimbabwe. The Indian team, which lost the first game of the series but has now taken two successive wins to go up front, has made a noteworthy comeback.

After winning the toss and choosing to bat first, India scored a total of 182. Yashasvi Jaiswal, returning to the team, scored 36 runs off 27 balls and shared a 67-run opening partnership with Shubman Gill. Abhishek Sharma got out early, scoring just 10 runs. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill then built a 72-run partnership. Gill contributed 66 runs off 49 balls, while Ruturaj added 49 runs off 28 balls.

Zimbabwe started their chase with determination, aiming to surpass India’s total. Openers Tadiwanashe Marumani and Innocent Kaia began cautiously, but India’s disciplined bowling quickly made an impact. Marumani was the first to fall, caught by Shubman Gill off Avesh Khan’s bowling. Kaia tried to anchor the innings but struggled without support, as Ruturaj Gaikwad’s sharp fielding and Khaleel Ahmed’s tight bowling stifled Zimbabwe’s progress.

Washington Sundar and Ravi Bishnoi’s spin further dismantled the batting lineup. Although Captain Sikandar Raza fought valiantly, he couldn’t lead his team to victory. India’s bowlers kept taking wickets, and Zimbabwe fell short by 23 runs. With this win, India now leads the series 2-1, showcasing their resilience after the initial loss.

Also Read: BCCI Appoints Gautam Gambhir As Head Coach Of Indian Cricket Team

India vs Zimbabwe Playing XI

India XI: Shivam Dube, Abhishek Sharma, Avesh Khan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Ravi Bishnoi

Zimbabwe XI: Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wessly Madhevere, Brian Bennett, Dion Myers, Sikandar Raza, Johnathan Campbell, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara

Also Read: ICC Announces Jasprit Bumrah As Men’s Player Of The Month For June

IND vs ZIM Squads

India: Harshit Rana, Washington Sundar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Khaleel Ahmed, Dhruv Jurel (w), Abhishek Sharma, Jitesh Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Riyan Parag, Tushar Deshpande, Shubman Gill (c), Ravi Bishnoi, Rinku Singh, Sai Sudharsan, Avesh Khan

Zimbabwe: Faraz Akram, Richard Ngarava, Johnathan Campbell, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Wellington Masakadza, Sikandar Raza (c), Tadiwanashe Marumani, Clive Madande (w), Dion Myers, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, Brandon Mavuta, Brian Bennett, Antum Naqvi, Wessly Madhevere