England Squad Announcement
Image Source: Twitter @englandcricket

England Announce Their Squad For West Indies Tour After ODI World Cup 2023 Flop Show . In a post-ODI World Cup 2023 development, England has officially unveiled its squad for the upcoming limited-overs tour of the West Indies, set to commence on December 3. The squad includes six players retained from the World Cup, with Captain Jos Buttler leading the charge.

Despite entering the World Cup as defending champions, England’s campaign in India fell short of expectations, with only three victories in nine league games. The team’s final success came against Pakistan in Kolkata on Saturday night, marking a consolation win.

Notably, the squad for the West Indies tour introduces uncapped seamers Josh Tongue and John Turner, who find themselves named in both the ODI and T20I squads. England Squad Announcement in which, Jos Buttler will captain the team during the Caribbean tour, and alongside him, players like Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, and Liam Livingstone are part of the ODI group retained from the World Cup.

Also Read: ICC Suspends Sri Lanka Cricket Board Membership: Here Is What You Need to Know

However, the ODI team sees the omission of prominent players such as Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, and Chris Woakes. Earlier this month, Ben Stokes, the all-rounder and test captain, announced that he will undergo knee surgery upon his return from India.

The ECB swiftly revealed the 15-player ODI and 16-member T20 squads shortly after England’s consolation win over Pakistan in the World Cup, signifying the conclusion of a lacklustre campaign. Having concluded their title defence with six losses in their first seven matches, England now redirects its focus to the West Indies series, featuring three ODIs from December 3-9 and five T20s from December 12-21.

England ODI Squad 

Rehan Ahmed, Liam Livingstone, Josh Tongue, Adil Rashid, Harry Brook, Chris Woakes, Tymal Mills, Phil Salt, Will Jacks, John Turner, Sam Curran, Gus Atkinson, Ben Duckett, Moeen Ali, Reece Topley, Jos Buttler (captain).

Also Read: ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 Semi-Final: Teams, Schedule, Venues, And Squads

T20I Squad

Will Jacks, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Harry Brook, Gus Atkinson, Reece Topley, Moeen Ali, Tymal Mills, Phil Salt, John Turner, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Jos Buttler (captain), Josh Tongue, Rehan Ahmed, Liam Livingstone.

In a parallel development, David Willey, the sole member of the ODI squad not offered a central contract last month, has announced his retirement amid England’s disappointing performance.